ROM Reviews

Liberty 1.0 ROM Review! Click HERE

Liberty 1.5 ROM Review! Click HERE

Rubix Focused 1.9.7 ROM Review! Click HERE

Darkslide V4.2 ROM Review! Click HERE

Which ROM would you like to see reviewed?

Please post a small review of the ROM you have chosen.  This will allow other users to gain as much information possible about each ROM and make their decision a bit easier!

  1. Jackie
    February 12, 2011 at 1:31 pm

    What do you think of tranquility? The comments on the forums are all over the place. I’d appreciate your input. This will be my first rom.

    • February 12, 2011 at 2:53 pm

      Tranquility is going to hold its boot logo after you go to another ROM or back to stock. If it is your first ROM I would suggest Darkslide or Rubix focused 1.9.7 if you don’t want blur.

  2. joe de leon
    February 12, 2011 at 3:32 pm

    Love the Liberty 1.5. Have tried the Darkslide and while it is ok, the Liberty seems a little more polished.

  3. Jackie
    February 12, 2011 at 5:19 pm

    If you don’t mind I have a couple of questions because I would like to try rubix soon but want to make sure I have everything I need to return to stock if necessary: I have made a titanium back up of all apps andand service data. Is this where my contacts are saved? Or must I save them some other way? I have bootstrap recovery and will make a nandoid backup just prior to wiping and romming.
    I am downloading the sbf files, the drivers and rsdlite. When I went to download the rubix 1.9.7 there is a link and a mirror. Do I need both? Do I need anything else? Thanks alot.

    • February 12, 2011 at 5:25 pm

      Titanium will back up apps and there data. Second, your contacts are saved to the google server. Go into your gmail account and make sure under contacts that they are all synced up. Your next step is a bootstrap/clockwork mod backup. This will save a carbon copy of the phone right before you do it. EVERYTHING will be saved, contacts, text messages, apps etc. You will not need the SBF unless something goes wrong but it is good to have it for if something does. Lastly the download and the mirror are the same and you will not need both. If you have watched the bootstrapper video I posted on youtube and the droid x rom flashing tutorial video you should be just fine. Good luck.. -XDroidRom

      • jackie
        February 12, 2011 at 7:37 pm

        PROBLEM: CHOSE WRONG ZIP FILE. WHEN REBOOT GOES WELCOME TO ANDROID. EMERGENCY DIAL. CAN I GET BACK INTO RECOVERY ANY OTHER WAY TO PUT ON MY BACK UP?

      • February 12, 2011 at 7:59 pm

        I don’t think you did anything wrong… If you are flashing a ROM you start from scratch at the beginning. Just set up the phone and you will be fine. Just go into the market and go to “My apps” install them boot back into clockwork with bootstrapper and you can install a backup if you want.

  4. jackie
    February 12, 2011 at 7:56 pm

    GOT INTO BOOTSTRAP RECOVERY AND FOUND BOTH OF MY BACK UP FILES WERE IN CLOCKWORK MOD BUT WHEN I CLICK THE CAMERA KEY NOTHING HAPPENS EXCEPT NO FILES FOUND. I DO HAVE THE WHOLE CLOCKWORK FILE ON MY COMPUTER. CAN THAT BE USED SOMEHOW?

    PLEASE HELP!!!

    • February 12, 2011 at 8:02 pm

      Im not sure I understand your question 100%…. If you can’t get to the stock backup files in clockwork mod it is probably because you renamed them. Also did you move the backups into a different file? If you have more questions email me @ Xdroidrom@yahoo.com. It will be easier to communicate that way.

  5. Randy Proctor
    February 14, 2011 at 4:27 pm

    This is my review of Liberty 1.5, and Rubix Focused.

    Liberty 1.5 is very smooth and I really like that there are so many tools available to quickly do things like install themes automatically (Watermarked FTW), add/remove apps, and other tweaks. I eventually want to try to undervolt but I’m terrified of going into a bootloop. I have had to uninstall Liberty at one point as the phone just started locking up repeatedly. I don’t blame the ROM, and actually I think I tied the problem to the Yahoo! Messenger app….which has since been replaced. This snafu on the other hand lead me to try Rubix focused. I couldn’t get rid of the “Liberty” logo on bootup…and I’ve gone to restoring my stock, then to Rubix…wiping data and cache every time. Any thoughts on that? I didn’t like that since I temporarily moved to another ROM.

    Rubix Focused is a nice clean looking ROM, and I don’t really have much to say about it. I did have one issue and I’m not sure that its due to the ROM or not, but I don’t have this issue in Liberty. Either there was a huge drain on my battery somewhere or Rubix wasn’t reporting the battery health correctly. In 20 minutes it went from 100 percent to 70 percent….not normal for a 4 week old phone. It made me nervous so I went back to Liberty.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: